21 November 2006

## PRESS RELEASE

## COMMITTEE REVIEWS VALUER GENERAL'S ACTIVITIES

The NSW Joint Committee on the Office of the Valuer General released its Fourth General Meeting Report today outlining a review of the NSW Valuer General's operations and activities. The Fourth General Meeting Report is the last for the Parliamentary session.

The Committee was established in late 2003 and is responsible for reviewing the valuation methodologies and contracting of valuation services, all of which are managed by the NSW Valuer General.

Land valuations determined by the Valuer General are used as the basis for determining council rates and the application of land tax in NSW.

The Committee's role is to put checks and balances in place to keep the system operating in an open and transparent manner and the Report outlines various new tools and systems established by the Valuer General.

The Committee has monitored and reported on various reforms to the NSW land valuation system in its previous Reports to the NSW Parliament. However it believes that further monitoring and accountability checks on the Valuer General would be of benefit in maintaining public confidence in the land valuation system in NSW. The recommendations of the Report highlight aspects of the valuation system, which the Committee believes would benefit from continued monitoring.

## These areas include:

- monitoring of objections management;
- examination of valuer industry workforce capability;
- consideration of valuation information provided to Strata residents; and
- provision of public accountability publications.

The membership of the Committee comprises the Chair Ms Kayee Griffin MLC, Mr Charlie Lynn MLC, Mr Steven Pringle MP, Mr Allan Shearan MP and Mr Richard Torbay MP.

The Committee's Report was tabled in the NSW Parliament today. Copies are available online from the Committee's website at <a href="https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au">www.parliament.nsw.gov.au</a> or ph 9230 3054

For further information please contact: Ms Kayee Griffin MLC, Committee Chair on 9230 2040 or the Committee Secretariat on 9230 3054.